Dear Perumal,

Do I love You more or adiyen’s favourite being – Sri Ramanujacharya?

Are You more beautiful in Your purappadu (procession), with the two graceful Goddesses, my mothers… or is Swami Ramanujar sitting solo in his purappadu more beautiful, and so eternally charming?

For once adiyen thinks I shall be partial to Udayavar. I mean, it is his 1000th birthday!!!!

What a supremely blessed life that adiyen has, that I:

(a) Know who Ramanujar is!

(b) Am alive on his 1000th birthday! (I cannot emphasise on this more!)

Sri Ramanujacharya 1000.png

Sri Ramanujacharya – 1000th birth anniversary – May 1, 2017

Dear Ramanuja,

Blessed are my eyes to see your archa avatara. Blessed are my eyes to read about your life and your works. Blessed are my ears to hear about you. Blessed is my mouth to speak about you, and my hands to type about you! Blessed is my mind to think about you. Blessed is my soul to have any association with you! Blessed is my heart, my emotions, to feel such overwhelming love for a supreme being such as you!!!!!!!!!!!

I am alive on Sri Ramanujar’s 1000th nakshatram! Yipppeee! Do I dance? Sing? Cry? Am I mad? With whom shall I share this madness? 🙂

Adiyen had the opportunity to visit Sriperumbudur few days back, on the 7th day of celebrations at Sri Adi Kesava temple. It was packed with devotees from various states. Just managed to catch a glimpse of the thirumanjanam of Udayavar. As the holy bath started, and the Sri Vaishnava scholars began chanting the slokas, adiyen burst into tears. It was too overwhelming. What had I ever done to witness Thaan Ugandha Thirumeni of Sri Ramanujar, that too on his 1000th birth nakshatra celebrations? Adiyen’s heart just exploded. I felt, for that moment, just that moment of emotions – it was all worth it.

Due to the heavy crowds, adiyen wasn’t able to receive the Mudaliandan/Satari after the thirumanjanam… but decided that I will return, on another Thiruvadirai day, when there shall be another holy bath! Why not go there again, and again, and again!

Today, on April 30 2017, just a day before Sri Ramanujacharya’s 1000th birthday, adiyen was blessed enough to be able to pull the ther (chariot) of Sri Ramanujar at Sri Adi Kesava Perumal temple at Mylapore. Adiyen’s hands were blessed to touch and pull Ethirajar’s ther from start to end with other devotees…!!!! What mad happiness!!! It has been the most joyful moment of my life!!!

As I held the rope I thought that this also signifies my ties with the Acharya, which I shall never, ever let go of. Ever. Adiyen shall forever be attached to you, my father, Udayavare!

Srimathe Ramanujaya Namah l

Jai jai Ramanuja!

Vaazhi Ethirasan! Vaazhi Ethirasan! Vaazhi Ethirasan!

